Daily Archives: 12/10/2017

SEPTEMBER LONG WEEKEND PART 3

24/09/2017 – SUPing down the river

As the only member with a Stand Up Paddle board, I created a group of one to take the same course as the kayaks down river to the river mouth at Guilderton.  Having an inflatable board I hurried off early to be prepared and ready before the kayaks hit the water.

All went well, except for several spots of rain.  I was so happy to be out and free on my paddle board, no one to keep up with, I could go where I wanted and go as slowly as I wanted.

A group of cormorants hung around looking wet and miserable, but it wasn’t cold, I pulled in for a closer look then went on my merry way.

I must be nearly there now, no kayaks have overtaken me yet and I can already see the start of the sand dunes. The rain has eased off and the water is smooth.

I paddled right up to the river mouth, you can see that the sand bar has now broken and water is going out to the sea.

I borrowed this picture from Hui Lin, who was around when the sand bar broke yesterday.  Apparently children often tunnel across, delighted to see the two waters mixing.  This looks pretty rough, and you can see the brown water going out into the ocean.

At last the kayakers catch up and we all had lunch together.  I was getting a bit cold by this stage as I managed to fall in when Julie shouted to me from the shore, “PAMELA”, surprised I turned and whoopoh, there I go straight into the water.  Very apologetically she invited me to sit inside their vehicle while we waited for the kayakers, and I managed to dry off a bit.

On the way back, I know that the kayakers will soon be ahead of me, sure enough, here comes Hui Lin.

But it is not a race, and I plan to enjoy the return journey.

I can stop when I like and have a break.  However, the clouds are looking a bit ominous and I don’t really want to get soaked again, so onwards I go.  A great day.

Categories: ACTION OUTDOORS ASSOCIATION, Moore River, SUP BOARD, Western Australia | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.