AOA NEW YEAR’S CAMP AT AUGUSTA Part 3

30/12/2016 – Time to go fishing

I had been looking for the chance to go fishing and word has it that Augusta is a great fishing spot.

First we try for squid at the local boat harbour.

A nice spot but no squid or fish in sight.

So…  follow the locals, plenty of action here, it’s on for young and old.

Hmm, not a good start and look at that sky.

Patience, patience, see the channel of water just in front of me, the tide is coming in and just in front of me is a deep drop, I had better not get too carried away.

Yeah, look what I caught, a double header, and they are slippery little suckers. One has almost jumped away.  These are yellow fin whiting.

Happy days.

I handed my rod over to Val so that she could have a turn. And voila, her first fish, and then she caught another one straight after.

So some poor soul will have to fillet and prepare the fish for eating (I have made it one of my policies of life never to learn how to gut fish).  We were pondering on the problem when along came this nice gentleman and his wife on a walk, he saw me dubiously looking at the fish with a knife in my hand and offered to show me how to do it.  “Oh yes please, how kind”.  “Oh you do that so well, a pleasure to watch”

“Oh, you don’t mind doing all of them, how kind, thank you so much, we are just helpless females after all, you have shown me so much, aren’t you wonderful.”  and voila, 8 fillets of fish – and that my friends is how you gut fish!!!

Categories: ACTION OUTDOORS ASSOCIATION, FISHING, South West Western Australia, TRAVEL, Western Australia | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

