CYCLE TO COWARAMUP AOA NEW YEAR CAMP

27/12/2014 – Margaret River Christmas/New Year Camp Part 2

I couldn’t wait to get out on my bike, so signed up for the cycle trip the next day, from Prevelly to Cowaramup.  Unfortunately I neglected to notice that most of the riders were the really fit ones who take exercise on their bikes very seriously.  It only took one steep hill (straight outside the Caravan Park gate) to separate the sheep from the goats.

Cycling

And this was my view of the other cyclists for the rest of the ride, except when they stopped to wait for me. Now that’s embarrassing.

Cowmyerup1

Even better, now they are out of sight and I can enjoy the beautiful ride without the pressure of having to keep up, don’t they know that a cycle ride is just as enjoyable when you go slowly.

HeuyLinNarelleS

Had to put in this lovely photo of Huilin and Narelle enjoying their cycle ride, which they undertook with Linda a few days after me, much more sensible girls, take your time and smile about it, no one to keep up with, breathe easy.  But make sure Linda gets her coffee or there will be trouble (and tears).  Well done Linda, she cycled 27kms that day, an all time record.

Cowmyerup2

The plan was that the group I was with would cycle to Margaret River on the cycle path, then pick up the Old Railway Cycle Trail to Cowaramup.   This trail follows the alignment of the discontinued Busselton-Flinders Bay Railway line and Shire of Augusta-Margaret River is working towards extending the trail south towards Augusta and Cape Leeuwin in the medium term (5-10 years).  When we reached Cowaramup, we headed for the Ice Creamery for lunch (good choice). I told the group that I wanted to take some photos on the way back and for them to go on without me.  That having been said, I could take my time and enjoy the ride back, and of course I did take some photos.

CycleRideL1

Great trail, quiet, easy, fairly smooth. The entire trip was about 60kms, no need to rush, we had the whole day.

Cowmyerup4

Here’s my trusty treadly, having a rest while I take photos.  See, I’m looking after it Liz!

Categories: ACTION OUTDOORS ASSOCIATION, Cycling, Margaret River, TRAVEL, Western Australia | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “CYCLE TO COWARAMUP AOA NEW YEAR CAMP

  1. Cheryl Brigden

    Pamela, I am working tomorrow. No can do fishing! Sorry, Jim

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

