SIDE TRIP

9/10/2013    A Quick Visit to Adelaide must be made

In order to re-register as a teacher, I have to complete 2 day courses in South Australia. Once registered to teach in SA, I can then register to teach in other states.  Such an unwieldy state system, wouldn’t it be nice to be nationally registered, one lot of fees, one lot of paperwork.   However, this was a good chance for me to catch up with friends and sons.  Sorry to those who don’t feature, it doesn’t mean you aren’t important, just that the opportunity didn’t arise to take your photo.

Marg and Chris with their gorgeous retro caravan.

Marg and Chris with their gorgeous retro caravan.

Big thanks go to Marg and Chris for their hospitality, and of course to Esther the dog and Tommy the cat (who never stops eating). I hope the renovating is going well.  Marg is a cycling friend from way back, we cycled round Tasmania together in Dec 1982/Jan 1983. Good to see that she still has her penny farthing even if it is not getting much exercise!

Elaine with Blossom and Tia

Elaine with Blossom and Tia

Next a stay in the hills with Elaine and her boisterous dogs.  Elaine was my angel when I so needed help, she fed me soup and words of comfort, never to be forgotten.

Blossom and Tia

Blossom and Tia

Another picture of the dogs because Elaine loves them so.  And they are the luckiest dogs in the world to have such a wonderful ‘mum’.

Pauline, Trisha and Elaine

Pauline, Trisha and Elaine

No trip to Adelaide would be complete without a visit to Pauline.  Trish, Elaine, Pauline and I went to the Mount Lofty Botanical Gardens for a walk around in the sunshine.

Mt Lofty Gardens

Mt Lofty Gardens

Pauline, Trisha and Elaine
Pauline, Trisha and Elaine

Elaine with "Giant Rhubarb"

Elaine with “Giant Rhubarb”

Pauline, Trisha and Pamela

Pauline, Trisha and Pamela

We had a lovely time, I’m thinking of you Pauline, every day.

Tom in 5kms run at College Athletics.

Tom in 5kms run at College Athletics.

I managed to catch up with Tom and Phillip at their inter-college athletics carnival.  Tom was being a competitor, and here he is at the end of his 5km run which he managed to do well within the 30 minutes cut off point. Well done.   And

TomPhillipAthletics2013.jpg

Good one boys. I thought this was going to be a nice photo of the three of us. How could I have not noticed the hats and sun glasses which make me look like I am surrounded by Mexican bandits????

Jamali and I

Jamali and I

I picked Jamali up from the airport early one morning and he kindly followed me up into the hills so I could drop off my van for its next holiday as I return to Queensland tomorrow.   I did rather understate the distance that we would have to travel, resulting in this comment from a tired boy “Way to play it down mum!”  but I am most grateful Jamali, and so proud of the young man you have become.

Jamali's new car

Jamali’s new car

Took this picture of Jamali’s new car (not new new, but new for him).  A Toyota Soarer, V8, never heard of it, but it looks pretty flash and drives very nicely.  Unfortunately he wouldn’t let me have a drive.

Mine at Newman
This is a picture sent from Jamali’s phone of his workplace in Newman, Western Australia, he works for the conveyor belt maintenance company and as you can see he must have plenty of work. He works 12 hour shifts so doesn’t have much time to explore the local terrain, and after his 8 days of work he flies back home to Adelaide for 6 days.
Linda with her new camper van.

Linda with her new camper van.

Last but not least, my other angel, Linda.  Linda lives in Perth, and amazingly the last two times I have been in Adelaide, she has been there. She has also BEEN THERE for me, thanks Linda.  I feel so blessed to have such good friends who have been there for me during such a difficult time in my life.  If they couldn’t be there in body, they have been there in spirit, with emails, phone calls and messages.  Not forgetting of course my wonderful sisters, parents and sons who have also given support and strength to me.

Categories: FRIENDS | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

